OUT NOW!!!
Listen at your favorite stores here!

B-Group Chat: Is It Okay To Be Distracted?

If you’re a college student reading this, then you know it’s finals week.

There’s that dreaded word: finals.

You see, I thought that if I finished my homework early enough I would have more time to write y’all a really great post today!

Nope! There’s so much to do that I found myself getting distracted from homework that I’m cutting my time seeking God.

Is that okay? I mean, God knows we live VERY busy lives (and might I add that college students are living bus-ier lives right now?), but is it right to cut our time seeking Him and focus on other things? Or maybe you’re not a college student but you’re still really busy.

Let’s see what Jesus says.

Why Are You Distracted?

In the first few verses of Luke 10:38-42, we see that Martha and Mary eagerly receive Jesus into their house. Verse 39 says Mary “also sat at Jesus’ feet and heard His word.” This implies that Martha also sat at Jesus’ feet and listened to His words.

Until something distracted her.

We read in the remaining verses that Martha became “distracted with much serving”, and she thought it unfair for her sister Mary to not help her. So it’s understandable why she became annoyed and frustrated, asking Jesus to tell Mary to help her.

But Jesus said no.

These are His exact words: “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.”

Doesn’t that seem odd? Don’t you think Jesus would care about how stressed Martha is? Is Jesus saying that serving isn’t a “good part?”

I know you may have asked these questions before. But I want you to notice something: what are you distracted with? For Martha, it was serving. For me, it’s homework. For you… only you can answer that question.

Here’s what I want you to notice next.

Don’t be so zoned in on what you’re doing that you miss what God is saying to you.

Your Distraction Isn’t “Bad”

As long as what you’re doing is in line with God, the thing you’re distracted with isn’t itself bad. But it is how you’re doing it that makes it a distraction.

For Martha, serving was a distraction for her. Why? Because she was so focused on doing for Him than listening to Him. By being distracted, she was missing out on the big picture: resting and learning from Jesus.

Don’t miss that part: Martha’s task became a distraction because she wasn’t resting and learning from Jesus’ words.

Put yourself in Martha’s shoes. What you’re intently focused on right now isn’t a problem. The problem is how.

Don’t be so zoned in on what you’re doing that you miss what God is saying you. And that is…

Being With Jesus

Jesus told Mary that sitting and listening to His words is the good part that would never be taken away from her because she knew what she needed for her heart. Mary needed to listen to His words, without distractions getting in her way.

I need to listen to His words, without distractions getting in my way.

You need to listen to His words, without distractions getting in your way.

Why? Because by eliminating distractions, we can hear more clearly what He is teaching us.

What I am saying is we need a time of quiet, where we’re not doing anything except listening to Jesus’ words. In other words, stopping whatever you’re doing RIGHT NOW and sitting at Jesus’ feet.

David best illustrates the value of ceasing from our work and listening to God: “He makes me lie down in green pasters; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul.”

There’s my obsession with Psalm 23 again.

It doesn’t have to be an hour. Ceasing from your work could mean a few seconds or 5-10 minutes. You may not be able to escape to a quiet place, but you can quiet your troubled mind and heart by asking God “what is it You want me to learn from You today?”

I asked God this last night, and what came to mind was Luke 10:38-42, the very passage I’m writing about. He is telling me to take time and just be still because by resting in Him, He will restore my soul.

This is the beauty of rest, silence and seeking God (for more on rest click here). He will restore your soul.

So… It Is Okay to Be Distracted?

What do you think? My answer is no because we miss out on what God is saying to us.

It’s your turn now. Take a few seconds or a few minutes out of your VERY busy day to sit at Jesus’ feet. Ask Him what He is trying to say to you in that moment. What did He say, or did you feel this peace and calmness wash over you?

Latest Posts

Loading…

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

One response to “B-Group Chat: Is It Okay To Be Distracted?”

  1. Yes, we are so distracted in this generation. So many things seem of more importance than hearing the Lord. We must choose to be intentional.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com